气候变化如何影响水稻生产

 

水稻是高度盐敏感的农作物之一。盐分会影响它早期的成长和再生阶段,使得开花期延后,还会影响花粉生产能力从而导致减产。

 

ClimateChange_Rice

全球的气温自上个世纪一直在增长,特别是在前50年(每十二年上升0.13 ° C)。气候变暖在欧洲地中海地区尤为严重,特别是在春天和夏天。与之形成对比北欧则在冬天能感觉到明显升温。地中海海岸线相比他处于同一纬度的地区升温更为明显。除此之外,缺乏水资源和海平面上升将会导致欧洲种植水稻的三角洲地区发生盐碱化,特别是在接近海平面的地区。在研究项目PRUDENCE的区域气候模型 (RCM) 的模拟也显示,在本世纪地中海地区的气温会以超高欧洲和全球气温增长平均值的速度去增长,以至于将在未来几十年就能看见明显的升温。

水稻是全世界重要的谷类作物,同样的也是人体的重要能量来源。欧洲消费的三分之二的水稻都是当地生产的。它每年产量超过三百万吨。水稻对许多欧洲地中海国家的社会文化、经济和生态都有着深远的影响。

食物短缺的出现是因为气候变化、地下蓄水层盐碱化和人口的不断增加。有预测称2025年水稻的需求量会从2013年的4.8亿吨增长到7.15亿吨。很多国际上的机构都对抗盐水稻的研究做出了贡献。最近,在水稻中发现了分子标记和一个叫“Saltol”的染色体具有密不可分的关系。“Saltol” 能够通过调节钠钾离子的值和不吸收植物中的钠元素来调节盐平衡。这些标记能够有效地传给欧洲优质小麦品种。

How climate change affects rice production

 

Rice is one of the most salt sensitive crops. Salinity affects both its early growth and reproductive stages, delaying the blooming time and reducing the pollen viability which negatively affects the productivity.

 

ClimateChange_Rice

Global temperature has increased over the last century, especially during the last 50 years (0.13 ° C / decade). This warming has been more intense in the European Mediterranean region, being the effects most evident in spring and summer, contrasting to what happens in northern Europe where most notable increases are detected in winter. Temperature increases on the Mediterranean coastline is greater than those observed in other regions of the same latitude. In addition, due to scarcer water availability and the rise in sea levels, there is a clear tendency toward salinization in the river deltas where rice is grown in Europe, notably in the plots close to the sea level. Simulations in the project PRUDENCE regional climate models (RCM) indicate that in the Mediterranean area temperatures will likely continue increasing at a faster rate than the global and European average during this century, so that in a few decades this increase may be very obvious.

Rice (Oryza sativa) is one of the most important cereal crops in the world, and makes up an important calorie proportion of the human diet. Europe produces two thirds of its consumed rice, with a paddy rice production in excess of 3 million tons per year . Rice production thus has major socio-cultural, economic and ecological impacts in several European Mediterranean countries.

Food security is being compromised by the climate change, the salinization of the aquifers and the increasing food demand for a growing population. It has been estimated that the global demand for rice in 2025 will increase from the 480 million tons 2013 rice production to 715 million tons of milled rice. Many efforts have been made by international rice institutes to obtain salt tolerant lines. Recently, molecular markers have been identified in rice that are strongly linked with a specific chromosomal region named “Saltol” which confer salt tolerance by correcting K+/Na+ levels and excluding sodium from plants. These markers enable to effectively transfer the region into elite European rice cultivars.